top of page
Search

What Lies Between Us by John Marrs

This is my first John Marrs book and I have to say I will gladly add him to my list of authors to keep an eye on. Im not sure what made me pick this book. May have been a random Amazon purchase as I am now addicted to my kindle, may have been I saw someone else reading it. Either way I am glad I did!


The house that Maggie and Nina live in has many secrets. Secrets from everyone outside and secrets from each other. Every other night Maggie and Nina have dinner together, before Nina then returns Maggie to her room in the attic, attaching her chain and leaving her for the night. Nina is punishing Maggie for the things she has done to her throughout her life, but Maggie has her own secrets and she is going to keep them to herself, even if it kills her.


Now this book! As I was reading it I had sooo many people reaching out to say they enjoyed this book. My expectation levels grew and grew! While there are some small things I could have predicted there were many more that I couldn't. This book is full of twists and turns and honestly I was hooked! Throughout the book there are always questions left unanswered. Yes as you work through the book more and more becomes clear but then there are times that you find something out but then have more questions! And honestly I was left on the edge all the way to the finish of the book.


It was a brilliantly crafted story. While I may not have liked all of the characters they still felt rounded if that makes sense. They were described really well and I could understand why they said and did the things they did. It all fit perfectly.


Some may read this and think, why only 4 stars then? Well I guess while this book was unpredictable it still did not provoke such an emotional reaction from me, which potentially I enjoy more. It was a great book, great story and executed incredibly well. But when comparing to other 5 stars I have read I guess it just, ever so slightly, misses out. I cant even put my finger on it. I guess finishing I book I just get a feeling and while this came close it still wasn't like some other I have read.


Like I said before this is my first John Marrs book but I have now downloaded another of his books and will be hopefully starting it as soon as I can!


What Lies Between Us by John Marrs

Pages - 367

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page