top of page
Search

Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold by Stephen Fry

I bought both Mythos and Heroes ages ago and it has taken me so long to pick them up. I have realised I work better with these type of books as an audio book so this is what I did.


Listening to the audio book I heard Stephen Fry tell the story of the creation of earth, sky, titans and gods, nymphs and humans and everything in between!


We start with Erebus (Darkness) and Nyx (Night) who coupled together to create Hemera (Day) and Aether (Light). At the same time Gaia (Earth) and Tartarus (depths and caves beneath earth) are also created. From this follows sky, sun, sea, clouds etc were born from them. From here we slowly follow the creation of the Greek gods and goddesses, titans and more. We learn how Zeus, Athena and Aphrodite come into being, follow poor Persephone in her story with the underworld and much much more.


Firstly I am super glad I listened to this on Audible. Stephen Fry was brilliant in the telling of these stories. He adds drama, voices and it felt like it was more of a conversation rather than being spoken at, if that makes sense. I really enjoyed the voices he put on for certain characters, including some that were 'terrible' or intoxicated! Listening to him was extremely entertaining, considering how much information we are given!


The other thing I liked about this book was hearing names and tales I was familiar with. Pandora was one I was happy to learn the 'correct' telling. Also Zeus and Hera, King Midas, Hades and Cupid. I really enjoyed hearing how the gods and titans were formed, how they coupled and how the true story went. King Midas was more than just a greedy king, and Zeus and Hera were certainly not what I expected! But then my only real experience with these gods would be in the Disney film Hercules!!


One thing about Zeus, and pretty much every god and titan... they were all greedy for love! I lost count how many times I heard the word 'flesh'!!! Far too many times! The lengths they would go to for lust and love including turning potential lovers into animals! And then onto Hera, and many other gods and titans like her, they are also angry and vengeful! Do NOT cross a god you will be punished! Honestly they didn't come across as very wise and worldly. In fact I would want to keep well away from them just in case. Many humans suffered at their hands and for things that were out of their control. A god (usually Zeus) would fall for a human, and another god (usually Hera) would try to prevent their partner from straying by removing the problem completely. Not good times if you are human.


Fry also shares stories for how Greek islands for their names and also where animals and certain words came from. Like Narcissus and Arachne for example.


Now this is a rather large book. It includes many stories, many names (some the same but different people), honestly it was hard to keep up at times. I think listening to these being told helped me a little as if I read the book I think the words may merge into one. With Fry acting the stories out I was able to remember/differentiate certain tales. But not all of the information has stayed in my head! I would assume it would take a few tries to remember most, but if you have a general interest in Greek Mythology then I do believe you should be able to retain a lot. If you don't then this book really isn't for you.


You need to appreciate that while earth and sky are not bodies they do couple up and produce children. Some are eaten by the father, either because a prophecy says they could be their ruin, or simply because they are ugly. Some children are raised by she-goats and nympths. And of course it is a god who raises the sun each day. Fry reminds us these are myths and are therefore to be taken as such. But there are plenty of times even I was like 'whaaat?'


I do have an interest in these myths and therefore enjoyed this book overall. It was quite wordy with all the various Greek names, and could have potentially be put into two books given the amount squeezed in. But Fry's delivery was incredibly entertaining, and the physical book includes artists work of particular stories. I wish there was a way for me to retain more of the information but it was all a little much for my brain and not sure if I could listen to it all again!


Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold by Stephen Fry

Pages - 442

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page