top of page
Search

Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton

This book was recently added to my work book club. I have a weird interest in things like this as they are just simply horrific so I looked forward to reading this one to see how the author would go about this.


School is just starting in rural Somerset, rehearsals of Macbeth well under way. Until the worst thing happens. The school is now on lockdown as it becomes clear they are under siege by a gunman. The headmaster is wounded, children are barricading classroom doors and a brother searches frantically for his younger brother, all while a snow storm surges outside.


While all this was going on at the school we also followed a police team and a mother as this was played out. It was really interesting getting all the different views as and when new information was revealed. Seeing how the police try to gather information, and also how the parents are herded together awaiting the important news of their children. And all of this taking place over 180 minutes.


I have to say I was on the edge of my seat for the majority of this book and I found it very hard to put down. It was incredibly written to not give too much away until the author wants you to know. I really invested in the outcome of all the children and teachers involved and wanted to know more and more the further on I read. I had also done some research at school on the Columbine shooting which was referenced a few times.


I will say there was one part at the end of the book I feel was wrapped up far too quickly. Overall the book was written so well, but this one thing really let it down in my opinion. I also think it focused too much on 'love'. It was mentioned how love was the most important thing, and I totally understand that, but it also felt a little out of place with everything going on.


This all being said I gave it a strong 4 stars and would definitely read more by Rosamund Lupton.


Three Hours by Rosamund Lupton

Pages - 320

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page