top of page
Search

The One by John Marrs

After reading What lies Between Us I was recommended this book to read next. Apparently it has been turned into a series so I wanted to make sure I read this quickly before I saw any spoilers!


The One is about a time very much like the one we live in now only in this a specific gene has been found in each person that lets us know who our genetic soul mate is. A simple DNA swab is taken and you wait for an email to let you know who your match is. This is the person you are destined to spend your life with. The One follows four different people all in different stages of their life and in their match process.


I love the concept of this so took no time downloading on my kindle and cracking on. The stories of each of the individuals are so different but also so relevant I loved seeing all the twists and turns.


I will be honest and say I struggled throughout with the constant flipping between each person. Each chapter follows a different person, but each person has their own family/friends and situation. Where I was on the kindle I could see that on average each chapter was roughly 3-5 minutes. I normally like short chapters as it keeps it flowing really well, but with this it made it really fast paced and I would have to get a page in before I remembered who was who. it just felt like a lot of information.


That being said I still really enjoyed the story and where it went. There were so many times that something happened that I did not expect. And it wasn't one of those twists that you felt cheated,you know where they throw in a new character who was the culprit all along or something like that. No this was cleverly done where we went on what could have been our journey if in the same position.


It also gave me so much to think about in terms of relationships in general. It is thought provoking in that would we leave a person we are happy with, and in love with, to find what we are told is our perfect match in the hopes of something even better? Or do you trust your heart and stay which who you have naturally found and built something up with? Do you trust DNA more than the journey you have taken together? What if you are already with 'The One', does that take the fun and excitement out of everything? Does it make the relationship stale and flat? What if 'The One' is already married with children? What if 'The One' is someone of the same sex? What if 'The One' has passed away before your paths could cross? Where does that leave your dating life and future now? What if 'The One' is dangerous?


I really enjoyed seeing all these scenarios and more develop within this story and within my head as I continued on. Although quick changing through the chapters it did hold a lot of information that was necessary and I loved every step of this journey. I think I preferred What Lies Between Us for shock factor but this was a good read also.


The One by John Marrs

Pages - 416

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page