top of page
Search

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

I read this book back in February this year and was about to review it when my friend started reading it. I didn't want to influence her reading so thought best to wait until after she finished it. I am sure there will be a discussion on this within our next book club meet!


Within the book reading world when I mentioned I was going to start reading this I was hit with many comments about how 'hard hitting' and 'deep' this book is. Sold.. I shall read instantly! I purposely didn't research much on the story as I wanted nothing to be given away, I wanted it all to be a surprise.


Now this book I feel very conflicted with. It is in fact hitting the hard subjects of mental illness and almost describing it in a sane way, through the eyes of someone living it, making it easy to follow in her thought process. While also highlighting the dangerous aspect of mental illness and how someone can have 1+1 and not equal 2, but instead make a clear argument for why it is in fact 3. Which I understand makes no sense, but this is why this book, in my eyes, was both so clear to follow and yet hard to understand. I hope I have explained that well! The story itself parallels Sylvia's own experience with mental illness and suicidal thoughts. It is clear to see why her writing is studied, it can at times be beautiful.


Because of this I do think it is not a book for everyone, perhaps specifically people already struggling with mental illness. I myself do not have quite such permanent thoughts so I cannot say I understand, this is just the perception I take. But I would fear it could almost encourage these thoughts, or at least make these dark thoughts more understandable. Also people who are not quite so open to mental illness and how strong its hold can be. This book doesn't quite explain why someone may think the way they do, but the more cynical person may not appreciate the hardships a person faces, which are different for each individual, which brings them to the door of mental illness, and the drive that person has to then walk through that door.


On the flip side there was plenty I just could not wrap my head around. For me her train of thought would sometimes make no sense and I found myself lost in pages of words strung together to make paragraphs to make chapters. Personally I do think this is the point the author is potentially trying to make. She can sometimes be so disconnected with life and the people around her that things did not always add up, and she had to find her own way back to reality. I appreciate a person in this situation only shows others what they want to share, but I also felt the characters surrounding her were so 2 dimensional. I also felt no real connection to these people and feel their presence was flaky at best, barring one character who I really did quite like!


Controversially, I also expected it to be more upsetting/shocking. I appreciate the topic covered throughout is hardly a walk in the park, but I also thought it would show the horrors of this world more than it did. It did not take me on an emotional roller coaster. When discussion of harmful actions arose it was discussed so simply it was as if she were choosing between tea or coffee. Reminding me of the crucial part in The Great Gatsby which was brushed over so swiftly I had almost missed it. I did however have a few moments of heartfelt sadness for this person. I finished the book feeling very confused, wanting more explanation while also being glad I have finished this book so I can get on to read something else.


This of course is just my perception of this book, for others it may have hit differently and I welcome any feedback/comments. Maybe I missed something completely. For me I have read other books on mental illness that resonated much deeper. Let me know your thoughts 💕


The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Pages - 294

Goodreads rating - ⭐⭐⭐




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page