top of page
Search

Shagged. Married. Annoyed by Chris and Rosie Ramsey

For anyone who doesnt know, this is actually a podcast by Chris and Rosie Ramsey. I listen to their weekly chats religiously and love them both so much for the sense of humour and realness to many situations.


The podcast covers questions from the public where they respond to questions, polls and funny stories sent in from listeners. They have a 'whats your beef' section where they tell each other what has annoyed them about their partner that week. Generally they have a chat and laugh at things and honestly with all of lockdown they have been brilliant. Therefore they decided to bring this out in book form, keeping many of the things we know and love from the podcast into the written word.


Now I am a huge fan of these to as a couple and follow Rosie on social media, again for her wittiness and realness for the day to day. So of course I pre ordered this book and even made sure it was a signed copy 😊 That being said, when I actually got round to reading the book, I decided to listen via Audible as I wanted to keep it as similar to the podcast as possible.


I am so glad I did as what I love about them is their ability to laugh at things and joke and the stories brought in. Yes the book would have been funny but hearing their voices made it even better. They even kept in the 'lets talk about shit' section that, well I guess is like marmite (excuse the wording) but I very much love this section so was pleased to see it make an appearance.


However... and this is a big however.. as one of the things I love about the podcast is their variety. They cater to ages and all subjects while keeping it all very down to earth. This book however centered very much around parenthood. Now if your a parent, or soon to be, you might think great. But for those of us without children and not planning on any for a little while I found this to be very much like the rest of society. Like a club I am not allowed entry to, a group talking about something I know nothing about, a joke I don't understand. I felt a little pushed out at this point and also disappointed. As I know they have kids and Rosie was expecting at the time of writing/recording but the podcast doesn't center around this.


Unfortunately it is because of this that I didnt rate it as highly as I was expecting to. Considering this is usually a podcast I think the majority of their content, and the way they shared it, was great! I just wish they had considered the amount they spoke about a topic that can separate the audience.


What I will say though, is if you listen to it on Audible you do get a little extra of them talking freely about the making of and that is definitely worth a listen.


Shagged. Married. Annoyed by Chris and Rosie Ramsey

Pages - 327

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐

Goodreads Link

Amazon Link




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page