top of page
Search

Rita Hayworth & Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King

Time for an oldie but goodie. So i'm pretty sure most people know about this story thanks to the film, but for those not so aware please note I will try to avoid spoilers but it may slip out!


As a recap the story follows 'Red' in a first person point of view and is set in Shawshank prison. Red tells us about a person who enters his life in an un-extraordinary way but affects him in an extraordinary way. Here he tells us the story of Andy Dufresne, another inmate, a banker, convicted of killing his wife and her lover. Andy is quite unlike any other inmate he has come across before, and one who professes his innocence throughout. It follows them as their relationship deepens as 'lifers' within the prison.


Now I have seen the film before but if I am honest I couldn't really remember it. I felt bad as it is clearly described as a classic blah blah. But saying that it made reading this book all the more enjoyable as I couldn't remember how it ends! We start off hearing about Red, the prison and why he is there. Surprisingly I didn't dislike him even though he is technically a murderer (no spoilers as its stated at the start and also... based in a prison!). The writing was not of an uneducated, hateful man so at times I completely forgot why Red was there in the first place. And found myself very firmly on his side of most situations!


I also enjoyed the way prison life was described. I know a lot of shows, documentaries etc tell of the life in prison but for some reason I read this and still enjoyed it like it was the first time I was hearing about it. I found I liked the inmates (not all of them that is!) more than the guards and others in charge. And you see Andy's life through Red's eyes and it all feels very personal and while not written emotionally you definitely feel very strongly for both characters as well as some others.


It is a very short book so easy for almost anyone to pick up. I will say however that as much as I enjoyed this book (and will now watch the film again) I did find that, very unlike other King books, this wasn't as climactic as others. It felt like a very steady book and while some parts evoked surprise or joy at finding out certain things it was not quite at the same level as some of his other reads. Meaning it wasn't gross, it was dark. It was just life. Prison life of course, but still very true to life, which was nice.


Rita Hayworth & Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King

Pages - 130

Goodreads rating - ⭐⭐⭐




11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page