top of page
Search

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Being such a classic as it is I am surprised it has taken me as long as this to read this book. Even then I have only read it as it is next on my work book club list. For anyone like me who has taken this long to read this book, if you haven't yet then look away now! There may be (will be) spoilers.


Having recently discovered a love of Japanese/Korean culture this book has come at the perfect time. This book follows the life of a young girl from a poor family as she is sold to Kyoto to live in an 'Okiya' with Geisha's and eventually trained to become one.


The first thing I need to cover is the beauty of the Geisha culture; the kimonos, the hair, the art of dancing and singing, tea ceremony's, and of course their overall demeanor. The level of detail shown in the buildings and the decoration of the kimonos was beautiful. I can honestly say I found it fascinating learning each Japanese term they have for everything and how strict they are with their rules. They really do have pride in every motion and every flick of the eyes. I thoroughly enjoyed learning each stage of the process young Chiyo took in earning her next level status in Geisha training, who knew there were so many! As much as some of the characters were harsh and made Chiyo's life difficult, they really created depth in the Geisha life, showing it isn't just stirring tea and performing pretty dances. It also showed the many social standings, much as there are in school. There are the popular girls who got all the attention but that didn't always make them the nicest of people.


I really enjoyed following Sayuri however there were times I questioned her decisions, such as her choice to emotionally harm Nobu near the end of the story, I lost a lot of respect for her in this. In my head I thought this is not your answer! However I was clearly proved wrong in this which I was even more let down by. I had to remind myself that within this Geisha life, and all those years ago, the women most certainly do not have the same privileges women have today. And therefore the choices they have are much more limited and almost always linked to a man. This was incredible to read and really reminded me how lucky we are now to have the strength and social standing women have now.


As a feminist there was much in this book that appalled me! The selling of young girls, the degrading act of examining these girls for their purity and then the selling of their virginity! Let alone the competition of having a 'danna'. As much as I am sad that the Geisha culture is dying, also.. thank goodness! These poor girls subjected to a life of selling themselves with the delusion that this is a respectable life! I felt increasingly conflicted throughout the book, on one hand I wanted young Chiyo/Sayuri to succeed and become the best Geisha in Kyoto. On the other hand I wanted her to escape every single day she was there! But then escape to what? A life of prostitution of a lower form? Conflicted I tell you!


I feel books of this kind are important for people like myself, and others, to read. Having never been to Japan and not knowing anything of the history and culture, this is a great way to educate people of what is happening in another part of the world without it being told to me in a history lesson. Not as exciting for me I can tell you! All the while remembering this is a work of fiction based on facts I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and will be adding other Japanese/Geisha books to my tbr pile. Next up Geisha of Gion!


Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

Pages - 434

Goodreads rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page