top of page
Search

Fifty Fifty by Steve Cavanagh

This book was on display in Waterstones and I had nearly left it there untouched. It was my friend who read the back and thought it sounded good so I figured she must be right and I bought it. I had a gift card so impulse spending may have come into play here!


This book follows two sisters, Sofia and Alexandra. Their father has been brutally murdered at home and the girls were the only ones in the house. They both called 911 on each other, claiming the other sister killed him. This was a great whodunit as we kind of know, it was clearly one of the sisters. But it is literally 50/50 the whole way through!


So I hadn't realised this book was part of a series, the Eddie Flynn series and is book number 5. Luckily you do not need to read the others to know what is happening in this book. It can easily be a stand alone story so do not let that influence you with picking it up. I'm guessing it may go into detail about some of the characters differently in the previous books, but I did not read this thinking I had missed anything.


The way this is written is each chapter follows a person, Eddie Flynn, Kate Brooks and 'She'. Occasionally also Harry (an ex judge helping Eddie). Eddie and Kate are both lawyers working the case, each defending a sister. 'She' is the killer. I found this really clever as throughout the story you know what is happening and you actually follow the killer and hear what they have to say (it reminded me a little of Mr Mercedes by Stephen King) but you still do not know which sister it is. The clues left for you are careful. It may give you a clue to sway you to one sister, but then the equal clue is then dropped later for the other sister, putting you right back in the middle again.


I found myself really invested in the characters too. Kate has a slight spin off of her own throughout and I found I really wanted to see what happens there too. I stayed up later than usual last night finishing the book and have to admit I got a little freaked out 😆 I was alone in the living room, it was quiet as I turned the tv off and it was late so obviously darker than usual. The dam TV kept making a clicking noise and making me jump as I was getting to the climax of the book! But I love when good books have that effect on you!


Without wanting to say too much more I did really enjoy this book. It wasn't quite the level of 5 stars in my opinion but it was a good read and left me guessing pretty much all the way through.


Fifty Fifty by Steve Cavanagh

Pages - 320

Goodreads rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page