top of page
Search

Expectation by Anna Hope

My work book club has grown! We have decided to up our game and read one book per month instead of one book every two months. So here is me trying to get ahead of the game so I am not left trying to cram at the last minute!


I had seen Expectation on Amazon and was intrigued to say the least, so one someone at work decided to add this as her option for us to read I was thrilled!


Throughout this book we follow Hannah, Cate and Lissa at various stages of their lives. As best friends we see how they meet and then grow together. One wants to be an actress, one wants a family, another is finding her way after the loss of a parent. However they all ask the same question; what does it take to lead a meaningful life?


So first off, trigger warnings. This book covers the problems with getting pregnant, IVF and miscarriage. While very tastefully written it is easy to see how this can hit home for many women. The way Hope writes it feels like you are there, maybe not experiencing it but your close. I really felt the emotions Hannah felt through each stage of her journey. Its incredibly written but of course can be difficult for many.


As a whole this book covers a lot of fears and milestones every woman faces. From being judged to being expected of certain things. And I do not mean men expecting sex. No, this book goes far deeper than just the physical. We all feel it ladies, the social expectation to be one things but also be 1,000 other things all at the same time. I feel this book highlights this well


That being said, apart from one or two particular plot lines in this book, I am sorry to say it fell a little flat. I enjoyed reading about each of the girls but the problem is it was so real that it was almost nothing new to me. If there was to be a lesson learnt I feel it should be been either with more fireworks or maybe a little more obvious.


When describing this book to a friend I said it was pleasant. There were parts that kept you reading for obvious reasons, but as a whole I wasn't blown away. Maybe this was the point? I mean, so many of us live similarly to them in one way or another. This is just life right? If this is the case then Hope hits the nail on the head. I guess I was just 'expecting' more... (see what I did there?!)


Like I say, there are triggers. It can grab you right in the feels. For me however I guess it missed the mark slightly, which was a little disappointing. But as a whole I enjoyed the writing, found myself picking sides and having opinions and generally enjoyed it none the less.


Expectation by Anna Hope

Pages - 322

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page