top of page
Search

Becoming by Michelle Obama

Lovely little non fiction book and why not have one of the best first lady's I have seen. I am definitely a fan of the Obama's, that being said I generally do not enjoy reading non fiction. I feel as though I am being talked at rather than reading a story. This was actually one of our book club books for earlier in the year which I struggled to finish in time! So I switched it up and tried Audible for the first time! It took me a while to get into it but I found it really good to listen to while getting ready or doing housework. Also it was narrated by Michelle Obama herself which gave it so much more of an authentic feel.


We all know who Michelle Obama is and hopefully I am right in saying that she is liked by all. But there is so much of her life that I didn't know about, even as first lady I wasn't even aware of much that she did while in this position. I knew I liked her but that was as far as it went!


Like I say I am not usually a fan of non fiction, and to be honest I doubt I will pick up another one any time soon. However, listening to Michelle tell me her story was actually very peaceful and interesting. I learnt about her family, school friends and life before she met Barack. Then of course he is introduced and their relationship blossoms, as does his interest in politics! I found I really enjoyed learning about them as a couple and also how she became who she is today with her beliefs and passions.


I thought I would struggle relating when she started talking about having children as I do not currently have any myself. However she didn't all of a sudden only talk about breastfeeding or changing nappies. She is a smart business woman who loved her children and husband dearly, but she also had professional dreams and aspirations. We heard her share how she balanced home and work life, while also trying to keep the family unit with Barack's ever increasing demand to be away from home.


I found I was hooked when Barack was announcing his candidacy to become President, but not because of Barack. Instead because of how this changed the dynamics of their family and how they needed to adjust to life in the limelight, deal with trolls and also dealing with people focusing on clothes instead of the important issues they were trying to correct. Michelle was expected to change how she interacted with people, she was meant to be motherly and charming, not passionate about making change (this was Barack's job now). By the time they move into the White House I was all in. It is fascinating hearing how their new protocols effect their lives for popping to the shops or going to an after school event, and how they became good friends with the staff within the White House. I loved everything I heard about this family, and I loved that it was Michelle's story. As much as I am sure Barack's story is equally enjoyable to read, it was so nice hearing things from her perspective.


There are also mentions about our lovely Queen Elizabeth and even Donald Trump! I found those parts super exciting to hear!


I know plenty of people who love an autobiography and I would 100% recommend this one, and if you can listen to the audiobook do it! I loved that it was her voice narrating her story! Which is a great option for people like myself who maybe needed a bit of help along the way!


Becoming by Michelle Obama

Pages - 426

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page