top of page
Search

After The Silence by Louise O'Neill

O'Neill is one of my all time favourite authors. I just love how her brain must work to put her books together. Previous books of hers include 'Only Ever Yours' (my favourite fiction book), and 'Asking for It' among others. I was upset with myself at how long it took to pick this book up (story of my life) but then I saw O'Neill post that the film and TV rights for this book have been bought. Therefore I could wait no longer as I HAD to read this before it appears on screen!


For 10 years the murder of Nessa Crowley has been a mystery. On a tiny Irish island of Inisrun a documentary team decide to dig a little deeper and see what they can uncover after all this time. Nessa's body was found in Henry and Keelin Kinsella's garden after a rather messy house party and a storm that knocked out the power. Due to the storm no one could have left the island, therefore it was one of their own who did this. Keeling and Henry have tried to rebuild their lives after the body was found, but with this documentary crew arriving and asking questions what will be unearthed?


O'Neill is an Irish feminist writer and I absolutely love her work. While I guess this book is more of a whodunit there is still a strong level of women's rights and their struggles throughout this book due to a sub story involving domestic abuse. I always enjoy when she adds more Irish culture into her books too. While I may not understand it all I really feel like I am embracing it. Some of her other feminist stories have no Irish comments at all so this was nice to see.


This being said this particular book is I suppose not what I would have hoped. My absolute favourite book of hers is Only Ever Yours. Its so dark its shocking. Same goes for Asking for It. They really have the shock factor which I miss from so many books nowadays. After The Silence isn't really looking for a shock factor, in my opinion. Its looking to confuse the reader, hold them on the edge until O'Neill is ready to disclose the ultimate clues. Don't get me wrong she did this brilliantly. I was questioning the entire way through what on earth happened to that girl! And the sub stories we are introduced to along the way were also pretty gripping and I found myself wanting to know more about these too.


I guess, unfairly, I was wanting another Only Ever Yours to come and rip out my heart and shock me to my core!! I really cannot recommend it enough! After The Silence is completely different and can therefore not be compared. The writing is brilliant, the information provided at just the right parts making you guess but then double back, just as a good whodunit should. I had opinions on the characters and was shocked when I found out more information, sometimes making me second guess my thoughts!


Anyway, I have written enough for one review! I highly recommend this book to all. As mentioned before there is a running theme with domestic abuse so please be aware of this. Also the language can at times come out of nowhere! But overall a great book to pick up.


After the Silence by Louise O'Neill

Pages - 448

Goodreads Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page